Scouting Basics

To all newcomers, here you’ll find the information you need to learn about Scouting. What its really about and why we do it.  For an intro video, Click Here. The first step to join scouting is to complete the Youth Application.

Boy Scouting is available to boys who have earned the Arrow of Light Award and are at least 10 years old OR have completed the fifth grade and are at least 10, or who are 11, but not yet 18 years old. The program achieves the BSA’s objectives of developing character, citizenship, and personal fitness.

The Boy Scout program is very different from Cub Scouts – mostly in the fact that it is Scout-Led. If scouts are coming from a well-run Webelos program where they were given responsibilities and decision-making opportunities, they will shift into a troop environment easily. If their Webelos leader did all the planning and operational work, then they will have a rougher time taking on responsibility for their scouting activities.

There are 7 ranks in Boy Scouting, culminating with the Eagle Scout rank. A boy completes the Joining Requirements and earns the Scout badge, but this is not a rank. The first 4 ranks (Scout, Tenderfoot, 2nd Class, & 1st Class) are a time for a beginner scout to learn skills for outdoors, self-sufficiency, and citizenship.  The last 3 ranks (Star, Life, Eagle) are earned by completion of merit badges, service efforts, and serving in leadership roles.  As a scout advances in rank, he shifts from being a ‘learner’ to a ‘leader’ and is expected to teach new scouts.

Troop 2012 holds regular meetings at Arcola United Methodist Church Chapel Building every Tuesday.

Scout Oath (or Promise)

On my honor I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country
and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong,
mentally awake, and morally straight.

Scout Law

A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly,
courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty,
brave, clean, and reverent.